top of page

A Vet Inspired Event


On 10 Jun 2017 Grunt Style a Chicago based veteran owned and operated company threw down one of the best events I have been to in a long time. Prior to the even I was contacted by Grunt Style to help them capture some photos of the event. Being a veteran myself I felt a strong need to help my brothers in arms with this event. Showed up to the event on the 10th and met the crew from Grunt Style and like expected, every singe one of the were extremely down to earth and grateful for my assistance. Wondering around snapping photos of people coming in and having a good time, seeing smiles on veterans faces made me feel good that such and event could bring all of my brothers and sisters together in one place. Talking to former and still serving military members hearing some of their stories, poking fun at each others branches (thats what we do), laughing and sharing a tall cold one. Then shaking hands laughing and parting our separate ways, as the day progressed more and more people were showing up I guess it was right around 1,400 people either active duty, veteran or members that just wanted the Freedom on for that time frame. First thing that official kicked off the event was the FASTRAX jump team based out of Ohio comprised of all veterans. Flew in to the event carrying to 36 foot flags while passing by each other on their decent while the National Anthem played and eventually landing with precision on their marked landing zone.

After that was all said and done DJ Scandall from Chicago, IL got on stage and got the party going. Mixing up the music and giving the party goers something to dance to and have a great time, I proceeded to walk around the venue capturing more smiling faces on peoples faces not knowing what their current situation but to think one of them could been going through hard times and this event provided them a release if only for a few hours. Then the main band started to make their way to the stage, this band has been rocking for 26 years and I remember as a younger person listening to their music and rocking out. P.O.D was now on stage so I positioned myself in front of the stage getting ready to capture some photos of these guys doing their thing. As I stood their capturing the photos and listening to their music make some very old memories come into my head and remembering the good old days. They rocked out HARD for a full hour and their set was completed but their stage presence was so great and their interaction with the crowd on and off stage was an awesome thing to see. I have shot bands over the last 8 years and have seen good and bad experiences with bands and their fans, was nice to see this great experience where people waited in line for 45 mins just to shake their hands and snap a selfie with them.

Shooting for Grunt Fest was one the best event I have ever been invited to and the fact that it was vets helping vets made the experience even more worth while. I hope I get to work with Grunt Style in the future and if you never heard of them check them out, they are always doing great things for the veteran community.

bottom of page